The Late and Graeco-Roman Periods Dynasties XXVI - XXXI The 26th dynasty is also referred to as the Saite period. This dynasty was founded by invading Assyrians. The first pharaoh was Psammetichus I (Psamtik I). Persia conquered Egypt in 525 BCE during the reign of Psammetichus III. This conquest began the 27th dynasty (First Persian Period) under the pharaoh Cambyses II. Other kings of this period include: Darius I, Xerxes, and Artaxerxes. The 28th dynasty lasts only 5 years and had one known pharaoh, Amyrtacus. Nepherites I is the founder of the 29th dynasty. He moves the capital of Egypt from Sais to Mendes. Achoris was the second and last pharaoh of this dynasty. The 30th dynasty began with the reign of Nakhtnebef (Nectanebo) of Sebennytos. He is said to have ruled for 18 years. His son Teos was the next pharaoh, followed by Nakhtnebef II, the last Egyptian pharaoh. Nakhtnebef II was defeated by Persian forces, thus began the 31st dynasty or the Second Persian Period. Pharaohs of this dynasty include: Artaxerxes III, Arses and Darius III. The Graeco-Roman period begins when Alexander the Great (Alexander III) defeats Darius III. His half-brother Philip Arrhidaeus was the succeeding pharaoh, followed by Alexander IV. The Ptolemaic Dynasty begins around 305 BCE. Pharaohs include: Ptolemy I-XV, Queen Berenice IV and Cleopatra. Egypt was conquered by Rome on August 1, 30 BCE. Other Dynasties
External Links Cambyses Amyrteos Nakhtnebef I Alexander the Great Alexander the Great- Project by John J. Popovic Cleopatra
©2006 Fruit of the Nile. All Rights Reserved.